My Mother is Wearing a Headscarf in Solidarity and I am Inspired.

So, this is my mom.

This is my mother!

Here she is wearing a headscarf in solidarity with the women in Egypt who have gone to the square and demanded their rights.

Because what the hell else are we supposed to do?

Now is the time to get up and stand together in solidarity.

Hello?  Who else is tired of living life as a peon of mass destruction?

So boring…so eff that.

The people have the power!

That is my mother’s jam right now, people have the power by Patti Smith and it has subsequently become my jam.  Listening to it daily.

The People Have the Power!

My moms says that what is happening in Egypt is not happening over there, it’s happening in the world and we are the world.

And my dad memorized this poem by Persey Shelley and recited it to me over the phone today…

Rise like Lions after slumber
In unvanquishable number –
Shake your chains to earth like dew
Which in sleep had fallen on you –
Ye are many – they are few.

We all better just listen to what mommy and daddy say on this one…


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Mother is Wearing a Headscarf in Solidarity and I am Inspired.

  1. What good parents you have! What a lucky girl you are.

    P.S. saw this today and thought of you:
    “Every work of art is conceived at a sacred time and is born in a favorable moment, often without the artist noticing, out of a profound need in his heart.” -Carl Gustav Carus

Leave a Reply

