My Muse “Masturbating with Bible” and Bald Eagle

I just watched a bald eagle land on the tree outside of my window as Tal and I discussed the nature of censorship and art.

One of my perf-art muses, Philip Huang, recently had his video “Masturbating with Bible” taken down from Youtube.  Shocking, I  know.  It was a short film consisting of a very able bodied Philip, naked, jerking off and using the Holy Bible to obstruct the view of his penis.  As pleasing as this video was to watch, I really recommend reading his blog post, No Fags on the Moon, about it.

I appreciate what he said about queers fucking up the world as we know it, so be afraid.  I also like how he wrote about people taking responsibility for their own feelings regarding art.  If folks were offended by the “M. w/ B.” movie, well, that’s their deal.  Philip interprets the bible as a symbol in his own unique way, perhaps as a cock block if you will.

Philip says he got inspired to make this piece after David Wojnarowicz’s “A FIRE IN MY BELLY” got pulled from the Smithsonian’s exhibit “Hide/Seek: Difference and Desire in American Portraiture” at the American Portrait Gallery.  I don’t know about that, Philip.  I mean no disrespect to my perf-art muse, but really I think he has kind of a thing for dicks and bibles.  I know that he loves Kirk Read’s whole bible destruction pieces, and who doesn’t?  Maybe it’s just me.  Maybe because I went to that screening in San Fran right after the Wojnarovicz’s piece was pulled and I got bored to tears by artsy ass blow jobs using fancy talk to take all the fun out of art.  I left feeling very much like eff art, especially eff the art world.  My homegurl, Cindy Wonderful, writes eloquently about the Fire in my Belly scandal on her blog.

So the eagle has long since taken flight from the tree outside my window.  The great American symbol of freedom.  That is how I think of that symbol.  And it is my responsibility to look at the root of my interpretation and conditioning.  It’s a bird.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Muse “Masturbating with Bible” and Bald Eagle

  1. erinsass says:

    Yes. Eagle. The spirit animal of the big E. Take flight my dear, take flight…… and do whatever you damn well please. That is the whole point, freedom and the non graspable nature of art and all of its outlets.
    I wish I would have told you to attend the drag ski costume competition at the bottom of AJAX yesterday. Looked like a f in riot.

Leave a Reply

